Search: How Searching Works






What is searchable and what isn’t?

What can I search for - and what can't I search for?

  • Cars
  • Motor Homes & Caravans
  • Motorcycles and
  • Trucks, Commercial & Utility Vehicles (including Trailers)

There's a specific search form available for you to use for each vehicle category. And if you're searching for parts, you'll find them at eBay Motors.

Back to top

How do I fill in the search form?

You'll find a mini search form directly on the home page, which contains key search criteria. If you want to make a highly specific search, then the detailed search form is the right one for you.

It allows you to specify all the features that you consider most important for your next vehicle: the number of seats, manual or automatic, colour and which driver assistance systems are important to you. You can refine the search so that only vehicles in your neighbourhood are shown to you, or to exclude certain models, or to make a specific search for vehicles offered by private sellers only – or by dealers only.

This allows you to effectively filter the search results. Every time a new feature is added, notice just how steeply the number of vehicle matches declines. This ensures that you get the search results you're looking for.

Back to top

What is the result?

Clicking on the button reveals a list of search results with all the vehicles which match your search criteria. You can also sort the results to suit your requirements, or adapt the search results directly on the page. You can see your search criteria at the top. You can delete them again from here, and you can add criteria in the column on the left.

Detail View

You can park a vehicle – i.e. make a note of it – directly from the list of search results, or click directly on the ad. You are then forwarded directly to the detail view with all the information on the vehicle and the seller. You can make contact with the seller directly from both pages.

The right order

The vehicles in the search results are automatically sorted by 'Relevance & Recommendation'. This means that vehicles that match your previous search particularly well and ads from certain dealers are shown closer to the top. However, no ads are struck off the list – you will always be shown all the vehicles that match your search. However, you can change the order of the vehicles according to your own interests under 'Sort by' – by mileage in kilometres, price, first registration (date) or by how old an ad is.

Park vehicle/Save vehicle

If you wish to make a note of a vehicle so that you can find it again later, all you have to do is click on 'Park' or 'Park this vehicle'. Your (free-of-charge) car park offers you a range of opportunities: you can compare vehicles, add notes to them, share them with friends or have the location shown to you. Please note: If you haven't logged in when doing so, you will only be able to access your Car Park on the device that you used to create it. To ensure that you can access the vehicles you saved from any device, it is a good idea to remain logged in.

Compare vehicles

Simply navigate to the Car Park, select the vehicles and click on 'Start comparison'. In order to obtain a comparison with a layout that is as clearly structured as possible, you can select different aspects: (vehicle) details, feature sets or seller. And to make the evaluation easier, you can also have only the differences shown to you. This is particularly useful when comparing feature sets.

Saving a search

You can, of course, also save your search, or share it with friends. Simply click on 'Save search' (at the top right) and give your search a name – which is important if you'd like to save several searches. You can also have your search results sent to you by email. The name of your search will appear in the subject line of the mail. You won't receive more than one email per day – and only when new ads for suitable vehicles have been placed.

Optimising a search

To obtain better – or not too many – search results, you can modify your search at any time. You can do so directly on the page showing the search results – you don't need to return to the search. You can see your search criteria above the search results, where you can delete them directly (in order to obtain more search results). You can add other search criteria in the column on the left in order to find suitable ads.

Narrowing down search results

You can refine your search in the column on the left in order to find fewer, but more suitable, ads. This allows you to obtain an initial overview and then add specific features that are important to you. You can reduce the maximum mileage in kilometres, select specific colours or only have vehicles with a navigation system shown. You can do that directly on the page, without having to switch back to the search form.

The result counter shows you the number of vehicles that still match your search after narrowing it down further. How many suitable vehicles with this feature are available is shown in brackets behind the individual search criteria.

Back to top

My mobile.de: Find the right vehicle faster

Searching & finding with 'My mobile.de'

My mobile.de' is free of charge and obligation-free – and it helps you to optimise your search. You can save search requests, run your last search again, or save interesting vehicles to your Car Park.

Different options can be found at the top right of the search results: you can save the search and have the search results sent to you by email if you'd like. The name of the search request is then the subject of the email. You won't receive more than one email per day – and only when ads for suitable new vehicles appear.

You can find your personal Car Park under 'My mobile.de'. You can save any vehicles that you're considering here. You can also add notes, share ads or recommend them to others.

Back to top

My mobile.de' for ad placement

Fast ad creation

If you've placed an ad for a vehicle, you can use 'My mobile.de' to access your ad quickly. You can add data here, change the price or – once the duration has elapsed – reactivate your ad. Please note that you can only place 2 ads per month.

Back to top

What are the most important search criteria?

The greater the range of offers, the more specifically you can structure the search. It's worth doing!

In order to obtain a manageable number of search results, selecting criteria other than price, power and fuel type, and ones that are important to you, is worthwhile. For example, automatic or manual transmission, from dealers/from private sellers only, cruise control, Isofix, colour etc. And narrow down the location/region – this helps you to avoid long trips to see the seller.

Back to top

Where do I save interesting vehicles to?

In order to save interesting ads, you just click on 'Park' or 'Park this vehicle' in the list of search results or directly in the ad. The ad is then saved to your personal Car Park. You will find the link to it at the top right of the page: under 'My mobile.de' when you're logged in, and directly under 'Car park' when you're not logged in.

The Car Park offers you the following options:

  • Compare

    Mark the checkbox below the picture (in the app: 'Compare') and start the comparison. When using the desktop version, you can also select criteria that are important to you (feature sets, seller).

  • Share

    Did you find a vehicle a friend might be interested in? Would you like a second opinion? Then share interesting ads using Twitter, Facebook or by email.

You can also:

  • Show location

    Clicking on 'Show on map' allows you to see the vehicle's location.

  • Save note

    You can add a note to every ad, e.g. to note unanswered questions or whether the seller has already been in touch.

If a seller deletes an ad, then you can have similar vehicles shown to you.

Important: if you haven't logged in to 'My mobile.de', you will only be able to access your Car Park on the device that you used to create it.

If you have a 'My mobile.de' account, the different car parks that you create on different devices will automatically be synchronised.

Back to top

How can I compare different vehicles?

You can start a comparison directly in the search results when using the app. When using a desktop computer, you save and park the ads first, and then start the comparison from your Car Park. To do so, you mark the checkbox under the picture (in the app: 'Compare') and click on 'Start comparison'.

The Car Park offers you the following options:

Clear layout

In order to keep the comparison as clearly structured as possible, you can choose what will be shown: details, feature sets, sellers. And you can also have only the differences between the ads shown to you. This is especially helpful when looking at similar vehicles.

Below the vehicle data, you can select several options for each of the displayed vehicle:

Park vehicle

The vehicle is moved to your Car Park (in case you have launched the comparison directly from the list of search results).

Detail View

The Detail View of the vehicle ads opens up in a separate window on top of the comparison list.

Find similar vehicles

Search for other vehicles of the same manufacturer/model that match the original vehicle in terms of fuel type and your desired special features. Details regarding performance, mileage (in km) and first registration can also be considered as criteria for selection, but they may vary slightly.

Delete Vehicle

The vehicle is removed from the vehicle comparison.

Please note: You can only do one vehicle comparison at a time. If a list of comparisons already exists, it is not possible to create another one. Newly selected vehicles will replace an existing vehicle comparison.

Back to top

Can I look for vehicles in my area?

Yes: by specifying your postcode and the preferred radius, you can search specifically for offers nearby.

A regional search is also possible by only entering the first digit of the postcode, the first two digits, the first three digits, etc. In this case, the radius search is not possible.

Back to top

What is meant by the details for fuel consumption and CO₂ emissions?

The Ordinance on Fuel Consumption Labelling for Cars ('Pkw-EnVKV') requires that this information about consumption and emission values be provided. If exact values are specified, then they are the official manufacturer data for a new vehicle; in other cases, they are approximate, empirical values, or similar values, provided by the seller.

Back to top

Suchen: Ablauf der Suche






Was kann ich suchen - und was nicht?

Du kannst nach Fahrzeugen in folgenden Kategorien suchen:

  • Pkw
  • Wohnmobilen & -wagen
  • Motorräder sowie
  • Lkw & Nutzfahrzeugen (auch Anhänger)

Für jede Fahrzeugkategorie steht Dir eine spezielle Suchmaske zur Verfügung. Und wenn Du Ersatzteile suchst: Die findest Du bei eBay Motors.

Nach oben

Wie fülle ich die Suchmaske aus?

Auf der Startseite findest Du eine Mini-Suchmaske mit den wichtigsten Suchkriterien. Wenn Du ganz gezielt suchen willst, ist die Detailsuche das Richtige für Dich.

Hier kannst Du alle Eigenschaften bestimmen, die Dir an Deinem nächsten Fahrzeug wichtig sind. Anzahl der Sitzplätze, Schaltung oder Automatik, Farbe oder welche Assistenzsysteme Dir wichtig sind. Du kannst Dir nur Fahrzeuge in Deiner Umgebung anzeigen lassen, bestimmte Modelle ausschließen, oder gezielt nach Fahrzeugen nur von Privatanbietern suchen – oder nur von Händlern.

So kannst Du das Suchergebnis gut eingrenzen. Achte bei jedem neuen Merkmal darauf, wie stark sich die Zahl der gefundenen Fahrzeuge verringert. So erhältst Du das passende Suchergebnis.

Nach oben

Welches Ergebnis erhalte ich?

Der Klick auf den Button zeigt Dir eine Trefferliste mit allen Fahrzeugen, die zu Deinen Suchkriterien passen. Du kannst das Ergebnis nach Deinen Wünschen sortieren oder das Suchergebnis direkt auf der Seite anpassen. Oben siehst Du Deine Suchkriterien – die Du hier auch wieder löschen kannst! – in der linken Spalte kannst Du Kriterien hinzufügen.

Detailansicht

Du kannst ein Fahrzeug direkt von der Suchergebnisliste aus parken (= speichern/vormerken), oder direkt aufs Inserat klicken. Du kommst dann direkt zur Detailansicht mit allen Informationen zum Fahrzeug und zum Anbieter. Von beiden Seiten kannst Du direkt Kontakt zum Verkäufer aufnehmen.

Die richtige Reihenfolge

Falls Du schon bei mobile.de gesucht hast, werden Dir (zu Deiner bisherigen Suche) passende Fahrzeuge weiter oben angezeigt. mobile.de sortiert dabei aber keine "unpassenden" Inserate aus – Dir werden immer alle Fahrzeuge angezeigt, die zu Deiner Suche passen. Unter 'Sortieren nach' kannst Du die Reihenfolge der Fahrzeuge ganz einfach Deinen Interessen anpassen – nach Kilometerstand, Preis, Erstzulassung oder Alter des Inserats.

Fahrzeug parken/Fahrzeug speichern

Wenn Du Dir ein Fahrzeug vormerken willst, um es später wiederzufinden, klickst Du einfach auf 'Parken' bzw. 'Fahrzeug parken'. Dein (kostenloser) Parkplatz bietet Dir diverse Möglichkeiten: Du kannst Fahrzeuge vergleichen, ihnen Notizen hinzufügen, mit Freunden teilen oder Dir den Standort anzeigen lassen. Bitte beachte: Wenn Du Dich beim Parken nicht einloggst, steht Dir der Parkplatz nur auf dem Gerät zur Verfügung, auf dem Du ihn angelegt hast. Damit Du auf Deine gespeicherten Fahrzeuge von allen Geräten aus zugreifen kannst, ist es sinnvoll, immer angemeldet zu bleiben.

Fahrzeuge vergleichen

Einfach zum Parkplatz navigieren, Fahrzeuge auswählen und auf 'Vergleich starten' klicken. Um den Vergleich möglichst übersichtlich zu gestalten, kannst Du verschiedene Aspekte auswählen: (Fahrzeug-)Details, Ausstattung oder Anbieter. Und um die Bewertung zu erleichtern, kannst Du Dir auch nur die Unterschiede anzeigen lassen. Das ist besonders bei der Ausstattung hilfreich.

Suche speichern

Du kannst Deine Suche natürlich auch speichern oder sie mit Freunden teilen. Klicke einfach auf 'Suche speichern' (rechts oben) und gib Deiner Suche einen Namen – wichtig, falls Du mehrere Suchen speichern willst. Du kannst Dir die Suchergebnisse auch per E-Mail zuschicken lassen. Der Name Deiner Suche erscheint dann im Betreff der Mail. Du erhältst maximal eine Mail pro Tag – und auch nur dann, wenn neue, passende Fahrzeuge inseriert wurden.

Suche optimieren

Um nicht zu viele – oder bessere! – Suchergebnisse zu erhalten, kannst Du Deine Suche jederzeit verändern. Das kannst Du direkt auf der Seite mit den Suchergebnissen machen – Du brauchst nicht wieder zurück auf die Suche zu gehen. Oberhalb der Suchergebnisse siehst Du Deine Suchkriterien, die Du hier auch direkt löschen kannst (z. B. um mehr Suchergebnisse zu erhalten). In der linken Spalte kannst Du zusätzliche Suchkriterien hinzufügen, um passendere Inserate zu finden.

Suchergebnis eingrenzen

In der linken Spalte kannst Du Deine Suche verfeinern, um weniger, aber passendere Inserate zu finden. So kannst Du Dir zunächst einen Überblick verschaffen, um im nächsten Schritt gezielt Merkmale hinzuzufügen, die Dir wichtig sind. Du kannst den maximalen Kilometerstand reduzieren, bestimmte Farben auswählen oder nur Fahrzeuge mit Navi anzeigen lassen. Das machst Du direkt auf der Seite, ohne wieder auf das Suchformular wechseln zu müssen.

In der Treffer-Anzeige siehst Du die Zahl der Fahrzeuge, die nach der neuen Eingrenzung noch zu Deiner Suche passen. Und hinter den einzelnen Suchkriterien wird in Klammern angezeigt, wie viele passende Fahrzeuge es mit diesem Merkmal gibt.

Nach oben

Mein mobile.de: Schneller zum passenden Fahrzeug

Suchen & finden mit 'Mein mobile.de'

Mein mobile.de' ist kostenlos und unverbindlich – und hilft Dir, Deine Suche zu optimieren. Du kannst Suchaufträge speichern, Deine letzte Suche erneut ausführen oder interessante Fahrzeuge auf Deinem Parkplatz speichern.

Rechts über den Suchergebnissen hast Du verschiedene Möglichkeiten: Du kannst die Suche speichern und Dir auf Wunsch die Suchergebnisse per E-Mail zusenden lassen. Der Name des Suchauftrags ist dabei der Betreff der E-Mail. Du erhältst maximal eine E-Mail pro Tag – und nur, wenn neue, passende Fahrzeuge inseriert wurden.

Unter 'Mein mobile.de' findest Du Deinen persönlichen Parkplatz. Hier kannst Du die Fahrzeuge speichern, die für Dich in Frage kommen. Du kannst auch Notizen hinzufügen, Inserate teilen oder weiterempfehlen.

Nach oben

Mein mobile.de' beim Inserieren

Schnell zum Inserat

Wenn Du ein Fahrzeug verkaufen willst, kommst Du über 'Mein mobile.de' schnell zu Deinem Inserat. Hier kannst Du Angaben ergänzen, den Preis anpassen oder – nach Ablauf der Laufzeit – Dein Inserat verlängern. Bitte beachte, dass Du nur 2 Inserate pro Monat einstellen kannst.

Nach oben

Welches sind die wichtigsten Suchkriterien?

Je größer das Angebot, desto spezieller kannst Du die Suche gestalten. Das lohnt sich für Dich!

Um ein überschaubares Suchergebnis zu erhalten, ist es sinnvoll, neben Preis, Leistung und Kraftstoffart auch Kriterien auszuwählen, die Dir wichtig sind, z. B. Automatik oder Getriebe, nur von Händler/von Privat, Tempomat, Isofix, Farbe … Und grenze den Standort/die Region ein – so vermeidest du lange Fahrten zum Anbieter.

Nach oben

Wo speichere ich interessante Fahrzeuge?

Um interessante Inserate zu speichern bzw. zu "parken", klickst Du in der Trefferliste oder in der Detailansicht auf 'Parken' / 'Fahrzeug parken'. Das Inserat wird dann auf Deinem persönlichen Parkplatz gespeichert. Den findest Du stets im Bereich 'Mein mobile.de' unter 'Mein Parkplatz'.

Auf dem Parkplatz hast Du folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Vergleichen

    Checkbox unter dem Bild markieren (in der App: 'Vergleichen') und Vergleich starten. Auf dem Desktop kannst Du zudem Themen auswählen, die Dir wichtig sind (Ausstattung, Anbieter).

  • Weiterempfehlen / Teilen

    Interessantes Fahrzeug für einen Freund gefunden? Willst Du eine andere Meinung einholen? Teile interessante Inserate über Twitter, Facebook oder per Mail.

Weitere Optionen:

  • Standort anzeigen

    Durch Klick 'auf Karte anzeigen' siehst Du den Standort des Fahrzeugs.

  • Notizen speichern

    Du kannst jedem Inserat eine Notiz hinzufügen, z. B. um offene Fragen zu notieren oder ob sich der Anbieter bereits gemeldet hat.

Wenn der Verkäufer ein Inserat löscht, hast Du auf dem Parkplatz die Chance, Dir ähnliche Fahrzeuge anzeigen zu lassen.

Wichtig: Wenn Du nicht bei 'Mein mobile.de' eingeloggt bist, steht Dir der Parkplatz nur auf dem Gerät zur Verfügung, auf dem Du ihn angelegt hast!

Mit einem mobile.de Konto werden Deine Parkplätze, die Du auf unterschiedlichen Geräten angelegt hast, automatisch synchronisiert.

Nach oben

Wie vergleiche ich verschiedene Fahrzeuge?

In der App kannst Du direkt in den Suchergebnissen den Vergleich starten. Auf dem Desktop-Computer speicherst/parkst Du die Inserate zunächst und startest den Vergleich dann von Deinem Parkplatz aus. Dazu markierst Du die Checkbox unter dem Bild (in der App: 'Vergleichen') und klickst auf 'Vergleich starten'.

Auf dem Parkplatz hast Du folgende Möglichkeiten:

Übersichtliche Darstellung

Um den Vergleich möglichst übersichtlich zu machen, kannst Du auswählen, was angezeigt wird: Details, Ausstattung, Anbieter. Und Du kannst Dir auch nur die Unterschiede zwischen den Inseraten anzeigen lassen. Bei ähnlichen Fahrzeugen ist das sehr hilfreich!

Unterhalb der Fahrzeugangaben stehen Ihnen für jedes angezeigte Fahrzeug verschiedene Optionen zur Verfügung:

Fahrzeug parken

Fahrzeug wird auf Ihren Parkplatz verschoben (falls Sie den Vergleich direkt von der Trefferliste aus gestartet haben).

Detailansicht

Die Detailansicht des Inserats öffnet sich in einem separaten Fenster über der Vergleichsliste.

Ähnliche Fahrzeuge finden

Suche nach weiteren Fahrzeugen desselben Herstellers/Modells, die bezüglich Kraftstoffart und der von Ihnen gesuchten Besonderheiten dem Ausgangsfahrzeug entsprechen. Angaben zu Leistung, Kilometerstand und Erstzulassung dienen ebenfalls als Auswahlkriterien, können aber geringfügig abweichen.

Fahrzeug löschen

Fahrzeug wird aus dem Fahrzeugvergleich entfernt.

Beachten Sie: Sie können stets nur einen Fahrzeugvergleich durchführen. Wenn bereits eine Vergleichsliste besteht, kann kein weiterer Vergleich gestartet werden. Neu ausgewählte Fahrzeuge ersetzen den bestehenden Fahrzeugvergleich.

Nach oben

Kann ich nach Fahrzeugen in meiner Umgebung suchen?

Ja, durch Angabe Deiner Postleitzahl und dem gewünschten Umkreis kannst Du gezielt nach Angeboten in Deiner Umgebung suchen.

Eine regionale Suche ist auch möglich, indem Sie nur die erste Ziffer der Postleitzahl angeben bzw. die ersten zwei Ziffern, die ersten drei Ziffern usw. Die Umkreis-Suche ist dann allerdings nicht möglich.

Nach oben

Was bedeuten die Daten zu Kraftstoffverbrauch und CO₂-Emissionen?

Die Pkw-Energieverbrauchskennzeichnungsverordnung (Pkw-EnVKV) schreibt diese Angaben zu Verbrauchs- und Emissionswerten vor. Werden dabei exakte Werte angegeben, handelt es sich um die offiziellen Herstellerangaben für ein neues Fahrzeug, andernfalls um ungefähre Erfahrungswerte des Verkäufers.

Nach oben